Reviews

9.1
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.4
Comfort
9.2
Property location
8.2
Facilities
8.9
Staff
9.6
Value
9.3

Reviews

    Meina
    jp

    Review score

    8.3
    2 May 2018

    Satisfied

    Isolated and hard to find the place.
    The owner is very nice and hospitable
    Lukáš Paluzga
    cz

    Review score

    9.2
    14 April 2018
    Our host was more unbelievably helpful, we just wish we knew Japanese better.
    Alex824
    au

    Review score

    10
    13 February 2018

    Exceptional

    Beautiful location and property, traditional style lodgings and wonderful host. We couldn't have thanked our host enough for his hospitality and attentiveness and his patience with regards to our inability to speak much Japanese. He always made sure we were comfortable (it was quite cold during our visit), offered to drive us into town and even brought over coffee in the morning. The room itself has great views of the forest, is traditional in style but also has modern conveniences like aircon and a private WC. We would love to return and explore the shrines and temples of Bessho Onsen a bit more and would definitely stay here again!
    gb

    Review score

    10
    27 November 2017

    Lovely traditional ryokan - warm and comfortable. Host went above and beyond to make us feel at home

    Host picked us up from the station and even drove us into Ueda on checkout
    Carrie
    jp

    Review score

    10
    18 June 2017
    The host is very kind and helpfull! He picked us up from the station and he insisted to drive us everywhere we wanted to go. He even took us back to ueda station. It is a very nice property with a lot of privacy and it is beautifully situated in the woods.
    Juliana
    jp

    Review score

    9.6
    7 May 2017
    We especially love Mr. Nishida's service
    Chapincita
    us

    Review score

    10
    22 December 2016

    Amazingly Kind and Attentive Host

    My time there was too short.
    The host is amazingly kind and attentive! He went out of his way to insure our comfort and enjoyment of his falility as well as the city.
    Anne
    nl

    Review score

    9.6
    18 September 2016

    Amazing location & enormous hospitality

    The owner of the house is extremely friendly and willing to do everything for you! He even did not want us to walk, because he would like to bring us with his own car to the town centre! Plus he gave us a snack at arrival, beer in the afternoon and breakfast (sandwiches with coffee/tea) in the morning, without having to pay for it!
    Tad
    jp

    Review score

    9.2
    5 July 2016

    Excellent place if you like quiet place.

    No TV. I enjoyed the quietness and the bird sing. No bath, but great local Hot Springs near by.
    Alan
    au

    Review score

    8.3
    16 May 2018

    Very unique, if somewhat remote, a real "Japan experience"

    Owner lives within visitor living area, it is a little uncomfortable for Westerners.
    The property is at a very difficult to find, and not recognized on the Japan GPS system, and reality only accessible by motorcar. But once found, and very unique location. Would suggest only way to find, is arrange to meet Owner at local railway station, but don't recommend if you don't have a car.
    Helmina
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    8 January 2018
    Host was very warm and welcoming and picked us up from the train station. We enjoyed our stay!
    jp

    Review score

    10
    11 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Svetlana
    de

    Review score

    10
    20 September 2017

    absolutely recommended

    It was wonderful! The host was very kind to pick us up from the train station and exceptionally welcoming with everything! He brought us to the village onsen and places to eat, offered us tea and some food for dinner and breakfast and brought us to the temple, too. True hospitality! Thank you very much! P.S. The house is on the edge of the village and almost in the woods, if you love a stroll in bamboo-pine forest - it's just behind the house!
    Yingying
    sg

    Review score

    10
    11 December 2016
    Room is very large and clean. Host was quite nice, although his house is far from the center of the town, the host kindly drive us to the hot spring. It's our luck to choose this hostel.